Pico De Gallo, my favorite way to celebrate the flavors of Spring

dinner at ashleys

Image

I was staring at my kitchen bowl of fresh vegetables on Saturday and knew that I needed to use what I had left over from the week, or I’d get busy with stuff and then it would be ready for the compost bin.

But alas, what did I see, a few tomatoes, an onion, a lime and lemon. It’s Spring, why not make some Pico de Gallo for a fresh appetizer…so much better than that stuff they sell in any jar.

We’ve tried dozen’s of jarred salsa’s from the most expensive to the moderate, and they are all “meh.”

So here goes my homemade version.

Ingredients:

6 long green chiles

2 large ripe tomatoes (cored, seeded and tiny diced by hand, you can chop coarsely, I prefer smaller)

1 cup tiny diced white onion 

1/3 cup minced cilantro

2 to 3 fresh yellow chiles of large jalapeno chiles, stemmed and…

View original post 216 more words

Leave a Reply

